Requirements for a Kenya Tourist e-Visa

In September 2015, the Kenyan Ministry of Immigration Services launched an electronic visa. This program allows visitors to apply for a visa online without having to visit a Kenyan diplomatic mission.

The Kenyan tourist e-visa is a single entry visa issued to people from countries who need a visa to enter Kenya, and whose main purpose for the visit is tourism. It is generally valid for ninety days, although it can be renewed once in the country for a maximum stay of six months.

This electronic visa is an authorization document issued in PDF format which allows visitors to go to an entry point in Kenya. Applicants will receive their visas by e-mail, after filling in the application form with the necessary information and pay the e-visa fee.

Documents required for the request

  • Last Page of Passport

  • Applicant Photo

  • Scan of Passport Personal Details

  • Proof of Accommodation

  • Airline Confirmation

Important instructions

Travelers applying for a Kenya tourism e-Visa must have a valid passport for at least six months from the date of entry.

The e-Visa for Kenya is valid for ninety days after its issuance. Once you report to immigration control at the port of entry, you can be issued with a stay not exceeding ninety total days for a Single Entry visa. Each adult visitor to the Republic of Kenya is required to submit an electronic visa application.

People under the age of 16 are not required to obtain a Kenyan tourist e-visa. Only their valid transport documents like a valid passport will be required at the point of entry. It is forbidden to do business or hold a job without holding a license or a pass.

If you do not have a valid passport, do not submit the electronic visa application. If you only have a national identity card, you should contact the immigration office of the nearest Kenyan mission.

Kenyan Tourist e-visa requirements

The Kenyan Tourist electronic visas are subject to service fees and card processing fees.

The requirements for a Kenya tourist e-visa for Kenya are as follows:

  • A valid passport.

  • At least two blank pages on the valid passport.

  • A round trip ticket.

Kenya Tourist e-visa request form

Those applying for a Kenya tourist e-visa will need to complete an online form. You can fill out the form and pay the necessary fees. On the form, you will need to provide personal information such as your full name, date of birth, nationality, profession and contact information. You will also need to provide your passport details, the date of entry, and the length of your stay.

The validity of Kenya tourist e-visa

The tourist e-visa for Kenya is valid for ninety days from the date of issue, which means that upon receiving the visa you will have ninety days to get to Kenya. At your entrance, you can have up to ninety days of authorized stays.

Note that it is possible to extend your electronic visa at the immigration office in Nairobi.

On the other hand, even with the extension, your stay cannot exceed a total of 6 months.

Nationalities NOT eligible for a Kenya tourist e-visa: nationals of these countries must obtain their Kenya tourist visa at an embassy:

  • Afghanistan

  • Armenia

  • Azerbaijan

  • Cameroon

  • Eritrea

  • North Korea

  • Kosovo

  • Lebanon

  • Libya

  • Mali

  • Palestine

  • Senegal

  • Somalia

  • Syria

  • Tajikistan

  • Yemen.

Please note that a visa is required before entering Kenya.

Nationalities exempt from visa:

  • Bahamas

  • Barbados

  • Belize

  • Botswana

  • Brunei

  • Burundi

  • Cyprus

  • Dominica

  • Ethiopia

  • Fiji

  • The Gambia

  • Ghana

  • Grenada

  • Jamaica

  • Kiribati

  • Lesotho

  • Malawi

  • Malaysia

  • Maldives

  • Mauritius

  • Namibia

  • Nauru

  • Papua

  • Rwanda

  • St Kitts & Nevis

  • St. Lucia

  • Saint Vincent & Grenadines

  • Samoa

  • San Marino

  • Seychelles

  • Sierra Leone

  • Singapore

  • Solomon Islands

  • South Africa

  • Swaziland

  • Tanzania

  • Tonga

  • Trinidad & Tobago

  • Tuvalu

  • Uganda

  • Vanuatu

  • Zambia

  • Zimbabwe.


The information given on this website is given with no warranty. does not belong to the Kenyan government. You can also get information on the Kenyan’s official website.